School's Out, Allan Rohan Crite, 1936. SAAM, Washington, D.C.
There is so much art to see at VTS and in our area! This page is a starting place for learning about the art around us here on campus. Additionally, come check out the display cases in the library! Currently in the Rare Book Room, we have Sacred Impressions, which discusses Biblical Engravings and the artists Dürer, Sturt, and Doré.
Stained glass panels by Rowan LeCompte were preserved from the old chapel and are located in the Oratory. Mr. LeCompte also designed stained glass for the Washington National Cathedral. Other stained glass by artist Brenda Belfield are in the upper level of Addison Academic Commons. Clarke's stained glass can be found in Immanuel Chapel.
Rowan Lecompte: Master of Stained Glass by Peter Swanson
Brian Clarke: Architectural Artist by Suzanne K. PowellAllan Rohan Crite was an influential artist that captured the daily life and members of the South Boston African-American community. He was a lifelong member of the Episcopal church.
The African American Episcopal Historical Collection has a wealth of Crite's works and resources associated with his career. Some of Crite's work can be found on display in the lower level of the Bishop Payne Library and within the AAEHC/Archives. He additionally has work showcased in Baltimore and in Washington DC.
Below you will find the AAEHC Finding Aid on the Allan Rohan Crite Collection. This is an incredibly comprehensive resource that compiles the Crite collection in the library, archives, and the AAEHC. It includes both resources on his art and career as well as artifacts and artworks in our collection.
AAEHC Finding Aid for Crite Collection
Allan Rohan Crite: Artist-Reporter of the African American Community by Julie Levin Caro
All Glory: Brush Drawing Meditation on the Prayer of Consecration by Allan Rohan CriteWere You There When They Crucified My Lord: A Negro Spiritual in Illustrations by Allan Rohan CriteThe Revelation of St. John the Divine: the King James Version by Allan Rohan CriteAn Autobiographical Sketch by Allan Rohan CriteRedemption: A Liturgical Drama by Allan Rohan CriteMargaret Adams Parker's work can be found on the second floor of the Bishop Payne Library, in the Rare Book Room, Scott Lounge, and Chapel Gardens.
Praying the Stations of the Cross by Margaret Adams Parker and Katherine SondereggerCanticle of Creatures by St. Francis of Assisi, illustrated by Margaret Adams ParkerBelow is a non-comprehensive list of places you can see art in DC. All museums are reasonably accessible by the DC metro system (excluding the Kreeger Museum).