LibGuides: Anglicanism: The Anglican Communion

The Anglican Communion

Instruments of Communion

In the global Anglican Church, there are four "instruments" that act as sources of communion among the member churches. Learn more from the Anglican Communion's webpage.

The Archbishop of Canterbury
Lambeth Conference
Primates' Meeting
Anglican Consultative Council

Starting points for research on global Anglicanism.

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Anglican Communion by Markham; Hawkins; Terry; Steffensen (eds.))
Call Number: BX 5005 .W676 2013
Part 3 contains individual chapters on each of the Anglican member churches. Bibliographies follow each chapter.
Anglicanism: A Global Communion by Wingate; Sitshebo; Pemberton; Ward (eds.)
Call Number: BX 5005 .A591 1998
Organized thematically.
An Introduction to World Anglicanism by Bruce Kaye
Call Number: BX 5005 .K23 2008
Organized thematically rather than by geography. Kaye seeks to trace the threads that define Anglicanism around the world.

Anglican Communion Resources by Geography

This section is a work in progress. If you're looking for books on Anglicanism in a particular region, view the "Finding Aids" page of this lib guide. There are lists of potential search terms there.

Africa:

African Resources - Project Canterbury
A list of resources on African Anglicanism, available full-text in digital format from Project Canterbury. Many of these are also in the VTS Library Catalog.

The Church in Africa, 1450-1950 by Adrian Hastings
Call Number: BR 1360 .H3573 1994
A History of the Church in Africa by Bengt Sundkler; Christopher Steed
Call Number: BR 1360 .S9589 2000
The Anglican Church in South Africa by Peter Hinchliff
Call Number: BX 5700.6 .A4 H5

Asia:

Asian Resources -- Project Canterbury
A list of resources on Asian Anglicanism, many available full-text in digital format, from Project Canterbury. Many of these are available in the VTS Library Catalog.

Australia:

Australian Resources -- Project Canterbury
A list of resources on Australian Anglicanism, many available full-text in digital format, from Project Canterbury. Many of these are available in the VTS Library Catalog.

Anglicanism in Australia by Bruce Kaye (ed.)
Call Number: BX 5710 .A589 2002

Canada:

Canadian Resources -- Project Canterbury
A list of resources on Canadian Anglicanism, many available in full-text digital format, from Project Canterbury. Many of these resources are available in the VTS Library Catalog.

The Anglican Church in Canada: A History by Philip Carrington
Call Number: BX 5610 .C318
The Church of England in Loyalist New Brunswick, 1783-1825 by Ross N. Hebb
Call Number: BX 5612 .N68 H43 2004

Indian Subcontinent:

Indian Subcontinent Resources -- Project Canterbury
A list of resources on Anglicanism in the Indian Subcontinent, many available in full-text digital format, from Project Canterbury. Many of these resources are available in the VTS Library Catalog.

Ireland:

Irish Resources -- Project Canterbury
A list of resources on Irish Anglicanism, many available in full-text digital format, from Project Canterbury. Many of these resources are available in the VTS Library Catalog.

A History of the Church of Ireland, 1691-2001 by Alan Acheson
Call Number: BX 5500 .A177 2002

United States:

There is a separate lib guide on the Episcopal Church.