Exegesis Resources

Here are a few useful tips when searching for Biblical Studies resources:

Search Terms

Performing a "Subject" search is a quick way to locate all of the relevant material on a particular subject. Biblical Studies resources are often formatted in a handful of repeated "subject terms."

To find commentaries on a particular book of the Bible:

• Search the catalog (limit your search by "subject") for: Bible. [specific Book] Commentaries. (for example, searching: Bible. Hebrews Commentaries, will take you to a list of all commentaries on the Book of Hebrews.
• If you know the commentary series you'd like to search, use this search format in the catalog: [Commentary Series] AND [Book of the Bible].

To find scholarly monographs on issues within books of the Bible:

• Search the catalog (limit your search by "subject") for: Bible. [specific Book] Criticism, Interpretation. (for example, searching: Bible. Hebrews Criticism, Interpretation, will take you to a list of secondary literature on the Book of Hebrews)

To find resources on linguistic, rhetorical, or literary issues within books of the Bible:

• Search the catalog (limit your search by "subject") for: Bible. [specific Book] Language, Style. (for example, searching: Bible. Hebrews Language, Style, will take you to a list of resources dealing with literary or rhetorical issues in the Book of Hebrews)

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies is a web-based tool for discovering important works on topics in Biblical Studies. Click the link above to access.

Each topic contains an annotated bibliography of resources curated by an expert scholar in that area. This tool is a great way to discover significant scholarship on specific books of the Bible. For help using Oxford Bibliographies, reach out to a member of the library staff: paynelib@vts.edu.

--

Here's an example of what each page looks like. The table of contents is on the left-hand side, or you can scroll up and down on the page itself. Each link contains a "find this resource" link which directs you to the library catalog to see if it's in our collection.

Browsing the physical shelves is an effective way to supplement searching the library catalog to discover resources. Our books are organized by subject, using call numbers. These call numbers are like addresses for a book -- each successive line provides more detail (like going from State --> City --> Street ---> House Number.) The library staffer working the circulation desk can always help you locate resources.

Use the call number ranges below to find books in Biblical Studies: